When a particular person on your development team deletes a file managed under SourceSafe 6, the next time anyone else on that team Gets Latest Version those deleted files will show up in your Pending Checkins window as a “Newly added file” even though they are not.
To get around this, go into the Pending Checkins window and Check In all files. The files that are truely deleted you will get prompted:
“A deleted copy of this FileNameHere.aspx file already exists in this project. Do you want to recover the existing file?”
Hit “Cancel” on these. These are the files that have been deleted.
After checking in all files goto the Pending Checkins window and the remaining list of files still showing are the ones that have been deleted.
Now if there was only a really nice easy way to mass delete from the Pending Checkins window!